Faculty Senate minutes Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Senators Present: Ajay Aggarwal, Lea Ann Alexander , Steven Becraft, Kristen Benjamin, Alan Blaylock, Victor Claar, Shannon Clardy, Debra Coventry, James Duke, Vincent Dunlap, Emily Gerhold, Greg Gibson, Dana Horn, Franc Hudspeth, Jana Jones, Travis Langley, Patricia Loy, Richard Miller, Holly Morado, Ingo Schranz, Brett Serviss, Joyce Shepherd, Suzanne Tartamella, Maggie Tudor, Charlotte White-Wright, Peggy Woodall, Meredith Wright

Senators Absent: Daniel Kendie

- 1. Call to Order: President Brett Serviss at 3:16pm
- 2. Election results for Faculty Senate officers for 2015

Executive Committee:

President-elect: Lea Ann Alexander Secretary: Shannon Clardy Webmaster-elect: Kristen Benjamin Representative to the Board of Trustees: Greg Gibson Parliamentarian: Debra Coventry (appointed by senate president)

Other Officers elected:

Representative to the Graduate Council: Peggy Woodall Representative to the Staff Senate: Holly Morado

- 3. New Business
 - A. Discussion of the Shared Governance Oversight Committee followed.
 - B. The possibility of changing the senate cycle from calendar year to academic year was discussed.
 - C. Committee preferences followed see addendum for faculty senate committee assignments.
- 4. The meeting adjourned at 4:03pm

Addendum I: Faculty Senate Committee Assignments

Executive Committee

Brett Serviss Lea Ann Alexander Shannon Clardy Travis Langley Kristen Benjamin Greg Gibson Debra Coventry

Academics

Ingo Schranz* Greg Gibson Ajay Aggarwal Charlotte White-Wright Maggie Tudor Jana Jones

Finance

Steven Becraft* Franc Hudspeth Emily Gerhold Alan Blaylock Meredith Wright

Operations

Peggy Woodall* Kristen Benjamin James Duke Patricia Loy Dana Horn

Procedures

Travis Langley* Kristen Benjamin Vincent Dunlap Megan Hickerson (alternate to serve while Megan is on sabbatical)

Buildings and Grounds

Joyce Shepherd* Victor Claar Holly Morado Suzanne Tartamella Richard Miller

Asterisk indicates acting chair. Acting chair is responsible for calling the first committee meeting.