## Faculty Senate Minutes

## Wednesday, January 24, 2018

3:15 Cabe Room

Members Present: Malcolm Rigsby, Lewis Kanyiba, Rebecca Langley, Emilie Beltzer, Shelley Austin, Connie Phelps, Holly Morado, Beth Maxfield, Judith Jenkins (for Pat Weaver), Fred Worth, James R. Duke, Natalie Scrimshire, Paul Glover, Peggy Woodall, Richard Miller, Michael Lloyd (for Catherine Leach) Matthew Gross, Vince Dunlap, Kristen Benjamin, and Jani O'Donnell.

Members Absent: David Stoddard, Tommy Finley, Shannon Clardy, Andrew Kreckman

Others Present: Michael Loos

1. Call to Order: President Malcolm Rigsby at 3:15: the President welcomed everyone

and thanked them for their service positions.

New Business:

2. Nomination and Election of Officers: President Rigsby briefly discussed election of executive committee member positions and passed around ballots for selection preferences of senate members for other committee placements. These were completed and returned to President Rigsby.

# Election of executive committee positions:

- a. President Elect- nominated and elected Fred Worth
- b. Secretary-nominated and elected Rebecca Langley
- c. Representative to the Board of Trustees nominated and elected Emilie Beltzer
- d. Webmaster-Elect-nominated and elected Beth Maxfield
- e. Representative to the Staff Senate Peggy Woodall
- f. Parliamentarian-appointed by President Rigsby-Catherine Leach

# See appendix A for other committee placements.

# **Old Business:**

President Rigsby mentioned need to continue work started last senate on revisions to faculty handbook and get current handbook available online since last one posted is from 2014. Several senators expressed concerns about us having signed contracts agreeing to follow the handbook and not having it available. It was also discussed that

the senate will revisit the student service transcript designation so faculty will be informed on what will be accepted service.

## **New Business:**

Election of the senators to serve on the various committees was completed as listed in Appendix A.

4. Adjourned at 3:48

Respectfully Submitted,

Rebecca Langley Faculty Senate Secretary

## Appendix A – 2018 Faculty Senate Committee Placements and Acting Chairs:

Temporary chairs for the purpose of calling their respective committee's first meeting are noted:

#### Procedures

- Lewis Kanyiba, Chair
- Beth Maxfield
- Catherine Leach
- Natalie Scrimshire
- Kristen Benjamin

### Operations

- Paul Glover, Chair
- Peggy Woodall
- Fred Worth
- Richard Miller
- Shelley Austin
- Troy Bray

#### Finance

- Carolyn Eoff, Chair
- Matthew Gross
- Connie Phelps
- Michael Watters

#### Academics

- Vincent Dunlap, Chair
- Holly Morado
- Beth Maxfield
- Christine McDowell
- Andrew Kreckmann

## **Buildings & Grounds**

- Shannon Clardy, Chair
- Jani O'Donnell
- James Duke
- David Stoddard
- Tommy Finley

# Other Placements not Official Faculty Senate Committees:

Peggy Woodall was chosen as representative to Staff Senate, and Holly Morado and Vincent Dunlap were chosen as representatives to the Committee on Committees.

Additionally, these faculty were chosen to serve on the Academic Grievance Committee as faculty representatives at the request of the administration. They had expressed willingness to serve to senate representatives prior to the meeting.

#### Members:

- Brett Serviss
- James Engman
- Lloyd Moyo
- Tammy Townsend
- Constance Weise

## Alternates

Martin Campbell, Ivan Birch, Deepak Pant, David Sesser and Tiffany Carter