Faculty Senate Minutes

January 23, 2019 3:15 pm, Cabe Room

<u>Senators Present</u>: Ajay Aggarwal, Jessica Allen, Shelley Austin, Steven Becraft, Kristen Benjamin, Emilie Beltzer, Ivan Birch, Martin Campbell, Shannon Clardy, James Duke, Maryjane Dunn, Tori Ellison, Darrel Farmer, Matthew Gross, Megan Hickerson, Catherine Leach, Michael Loos, Bryon Martin, Cheryl Massey, Lisa Massey, Beth Maxfield, David Sesser, Brett Serviss, David Stoddard, Lacy Wolfe, Peggy Woodall, Fred Worth,

Senators Absent: Richard Miller, Pat Weaver

Guests: Johnny Campbell, HSU Chief of Police; Heath Sims, Staff Senate

1. Call to order by President Fred Worth at 3:17 p.m.

2. Discussion with Johnny Campbell, HSU Chief of Police

Chief Campbell announced a new first aid training program called "Stop the Bleed." In answer to a question regarding illegal parking, he stated that the police department would be gaining additional personnel and that this would contribute to the enforcement of parking regulations. He also noted that the university has enough parking facilities for current need. In answer to a question regarding campus conceal and carry, Chief Campbell stated that there have been no problems, but also that there is clearly some confusion regarding the specifics of the new law.

3. <u>Approval of Minutes:</u> Senators reviewed the Minutes from the December 5, 2018 meeting. A motion to accept was seconded; senators voted to approve the Minutes.

4. Senate Election Results

A. Executive Committee

- President-Elect: A nomination for <u>Darrel Farmer</u> was seconded; election by acclamation.
- Secretary: A nomination for <u>Megan Hickerson</u> was seconded; election by acclamation.
- Webmaster-Elect: A nomination for <u>Lacy Wolfe</u> was seconded; election by acclamation.
- Representative to the Board of Trustees: A nomination for <u>Catherine Leach</u> was seconded; election by acclamation.
- Ongoing appointment: Webmaster, Beth Maxfield (also Chair of the Procedures Committee)
- Parliamentarian: President Worth will make an appointment (Addendum A).
- B. Representative to the Graduate Council: A nomination for <u>Peggy Woodall</u> was seconded; election by acclamation.
- C. Representative to the Staff Senate: A nomination for <u>Cheryl Massey</u> was seconded; election by acclamation.

5. Ex Officio Duties

- A. University President's Cabinet: Senate President
- B. Planning and Budget Committee: President, President-Elect, Finance Committee Chair
 - Meetings, Spring 2019 (all at 1:30pm)
 - o Friday, January 25
 - o Friday, February 8
 - o Friday, March 1
 - o Friday, March 15
 - o Thursday, March 28
 - o Thursday, April 11
 - o Friday, April 26
- C. Shared Governance Committee: President, President-Elect
- D. University Academic Council: Chair, Academics Committee
- <u>6. Committee Appointments</u>: President Worth described each Senate Committee's area of responsibility and asked senators to list their top three choices for appointment. Following the meeting the Executive Committee will decide committee membership (Addendum B). President Worth also asked senators to indicate willingness to serve on the *ad hoc* Senate Shared Governance Review Committee (Addendum C).
- 7. Meeting Adjourned, 4:05pm.

Respectfully Submitted Megan Hickerson, Secretary

Addendum A: Senate Parliamentarian

President Worth appointed Dr. Shelley Austin as Parliamentarian to the Faculty Senate.

Addendum B: Senate Committees, 2019

Academics Committee Buildings and Grounds Committee

Acting Chair: Maryjane Dunn Acting Chair: Ivan Birch

Michael LoosDavid SesserBrett ServissTori EllisonPeggy WoodallJim DukeJessica AllenSteve BecraftMartin CampbellPat Weaver

Finance Committee Operations and Faculty Handbook Committee

Chair: Matt Gross Acting Chair: Shelley Austin

Lisa Massey
Ajay Aggarwal
Emilie Beltzer
Richard Miller
Catherine Leach
Cheryl Massey
Bryon Martin
Fred Worth

Procedures Committee

Chair: Beth Maxfield (Senate Webmaster)
Lacy Wolfe (Senate Webmaster-elect)

David Stoddard Shannon Clardy Kristen Benjamin

Addendum C: Shared Governance Review Committee

Acting Chair: Shannon Clardy

Maryjane Dunn Catherine Leach