September 20, 2011 Faculty Senate Special Session Minutes

- 1. The meeting was called to order by Dr. Troy Bray at 12:32.
- 2. Faculty representation on the Presidential search committee was discussed. A proposal was made and seconded to put forward 1 name for each of the 5 traditional areas Teachers College, School of Business, liberal arts, math and science, and fine arts, as well as 3 additional names from the faculty at large from which the Board of Trustees would select the faculty representatives for the committee. A vote was taken and the motion passed unanimously.
- 3. Preliminary nominations of faculty were taken. Elections were made by secret ballot.

Names of Preliminary Nominees:

| Math and Science | Fine Arts | School of Business | Liberal Arts | Teachers College |
|------------------|---------------|--------------------|-----------------|------------------|
| Brett Serviss | Mike Miller | Nathan Campbell | Megan Hickerson | Tim Baghurst |
| Duane Jackson | Aaron Calvert | Margaret Hoskins | Peggy Bailey | Connie Phelps |
| Fred Worth | Claudia Beach | | Travis Langley | Ceyla Taylor |
| | | | | Bernie Hellums |
| | | | | Lonnie McDonald |

Nominees elected included - Brett Serviss (Math and Science), Claudia Beach (Fine Arts), Margaret Hoskins(School of Business), Megan Hickerson (Liberal Arts), Tim Baghurst (Teachers College)

At-large elected nominees included – Duane Jackson, Fred Worth, and Celya Taylor

The Board of Trustees will select representatives from the nominees put forward.

4. The meeting adjourned at 1:07pm.

Respectfully Submitted, Shannon Clardy Faculty Senate Secretary