DRAFT Henderson State University Faculty Senate Minutes of January 19, 2005

Members Present: Catherine Leach, Marielle McFarland, Henry Perez, Alan Wright, Hal McAfee, Larry Thye, Carol Underwood, Lea Ann Alexander, Angela Boswell, Ken Taylor, Linda English, Patti Miley, Celya Taylor, Betsy Fulmer, Laura Storm, Randy Duncan, George Ann Stallings, Brett Serviss, James Engman, Hank Wilson, Marty Campbell, and Mike Matthews.

Members Absent: Aneeq Ahmad, Charles Leming, Bruce Smith, Duane Jackson, Joyce Shepherd, Jules Mollere.

A quorum was present (22 of 28 senators).

President Mike Matthews called the meeting to order at 3: 15 p.m.

The minutes of the December, 2004 meeting were approved.

Dr. Matthews passed out an agenda for the meeting and a list of Senate Members for 2005.

There was no President's Report because the February meeting and report are only two weeks away.

Dr. Matthews reported on a conversation he had withVice President Houston in which Dr. Houston mentioned two items of concern for the Senate's January 19th meeting:

- 1) Dr. Houston would like to meet with the Senate briefly each month at the beginning of our regularly scheduled meetings to answer questions and give the Faculty an opportunity to air their concerns. He hopes this will dispel the dissemination of misinformation and rumors.
- 2) Dr. Houston feels the Faculty Senate and other Faculty committees should take a more active role in causing change at Henderson.

Dr. Perez suggested the Faculty Senators not be on any other committees if we follow Dr. Houston's suggestion.

Elections

- James Engman was elected President Elect of the Faculty Senate (Motion by Acclamation).
- Marielle McFarland was elected Secretary of the Faculty Senate (Motion by Acclamation).
- Catherine Leach was appointed Parliamentarian by President Matthews.
- Randy Duncan was elected Representative to the Board of Trustees (Motion by Acclamation).

Committee Reports:

Executive Committee: Meeting to make committee assignments

Academics Committee: No report. Finance Committee: No report.

Procedures Committee:

Dr. Angela Boswell, Chair, reported on two special elections:

- Brett Serviss will represent Biology on the Faculty Senate with Anna Smith serving as alternate.
- Laura Storm will represent Music on the Faculty Senate with Rick Dimond serving as alternate.

Operations Committee: No report.

Buildings and Grounds Committee: No report.

Old Business:

- President Matthews reported that University Salary Study Committee is collecting data from comparable universities.
- President Matthews asked Senators to consider two items from the January 10, 2004, Cabinet Minutes:
- 1) Item #3: Legislative/Budget Issues.
- 2) Item #6: 73 people volunteered for the Strategic Planning Committees, only 35 were Faculty members besides Deans. The Faculty is viewed as not wanting to be involved. If anyone is interested, Doris Wright is still accepting volunteers for the strategic planning effort. The Six Task Forces are:
 - Campus Community
 - Telling Our Story
 - Academic Programs
 - Enrollment Issues
 - Partnerships
 - Facilities

New Business:

- Faculty Senate agrees with Dr. Houston's first item of concern and will meet with him at the beginning of each regularly scheduled Faculty Senate meeting.
- Faculty Senate discussed Dr. Houston's second item of concern. No action was taken but we will ask him to better define his request when he meets with Faculty Senate at the beginning of the regularly scheduled February, 2005, meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.
Respectfully submitted by Marielle McFarland, Secretary, Faculty Senate

Committee Assignments:

Executive

Mike Matthews, President Dr. James Engman, Pres. Elect Catherine Leach, Parliamentarian Marielle McFarland, Secretary Randy Duncan

Procedures

Marielle McFarland, Chair Catherine Leach Angela Boswell Ken Taylor

Finance

Lea Ann Alexander, Chair Henry Perez, Chair Elect Mike Matthews James Engman Hank Wilson Charles Leming

Operations

Hal McAfee, Chair Aneeq Ahmad Marty Campbell Linda English Jules Mollere Bruce Smith

Academic

Randy Duncan, Chair George Ann Stallings Laura Storm Celya Taylor Carol Underwood Alan Wright

Buildings & Grounds

Brett Serviss, Chair Betsy Fulmer Duane Jackson Patti Miley Joyce Shepherd Larry Thye