## Henderson State University Faculty Senate Special Meeting Minutes 17 AUG 2022

Senators present - Carrie Flora, Catherine Leach, Dever Norman, Edward Akoto, Fred Worth, Janna Lock, Jonathon Barramco, Marck Beggs, Mark Moser, Megan Hickerson, Patrick Wempe, Ruth Eyres, Scott McKinnon, Shannon Wittig, Shari Valentine, Steve Adkison

guests - Maryjane Dunn, Eunice Akoto, Don Kelly, Joseph Campbell, Heather Thayer, Beth Maxfield, Suzanne Tartamella Kordsmeier, Travis Langley, Lisa Massey, Trudi Sabaj, Lacey Klinger, Christopher Todd

Call to order by Dr Norman at 3:22 p.m.

Dr Norman described the agenda, particularly in light of the loss of departments and "traditional areas" which are fundamental to the makeup of the senate and various university committees.

Extensive discussion of how the senate should be organized and structured going forward. Particular areas of discussion were:

- administrative input
- whether the senate should be representative or the committee of the whole faculty
- elections and related issues
- whether faculty in some areas will be full-time or adjunct
- excellence awards

No resolutions or proposals were put forth.

Motion, second for adjournment - adjourned at 4:50 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Fred Worth, Secretary Faculty Senate