HSU Reinstates Mask Requirement

Effective August 12, 2021, masks are required, regardless of vaccination status, in public indoor areas on campus—including classrooms, common areas and shared spaces of all buildings. Individual offices, residence hall rooms, and apartments are excluded.

The Arkansas State University System Board of Trustees authorized chancellors to make this decision for each campus based on local conditions. Clark County and the entire state is classified by the Centers for Disease Control as HIGH RISK for community spread. Additionally, health care facilities are overburdened.

Once the Centers for Disease Control reclassifies Clark County and our immediate region as MODERATE RISK, this mask directive will be revisited and all evidence considered. The evidence that will be considered also will include the status of health care facilities. Other criteria may be added.

COVID-19 Operational Plan