Board of Directors



 Board of Directors
The HSU FCU Board of Directors is a volunteer board, working hard to serve all the members.

Carolyn Nivens has been a credit union member since 1972 and board member since 2002. She has served as board secretary for 2 years, board chairperson and currently vice chair. Mrs. Nivens has worked at HSU since 1970 in the University Registrar’s office in part as Assistant Registrar. Mrs. Nivens as served on many committees including, Henderson State University FCU Board Member, 2001-present, Henderson State University Athletics Committee, Henderson State University Staff Senate (Member of committee who drew up the constitution in 1987; 1988 staff senator; 2002-2003 senator), Member of ARACRAO – Arkansas Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers, Member of SACRAO – Southern Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers. During her employment she has been able to take many courses and special training at the university.

Tim Jones has been with the credit union since 1995. He is the Director of Purchasing for HSU. Tim is also on the investment committee for the credit union and treasurer.

Laurel Williams, former education specialist with the Educational Opportunty Center, has been a member since December of 1999. Laurel was elected as board member in the 2006 annual meeting. Ms. Laurel R. Williams earned her B.S.E. in Family & Consumer Science, a M.S.E. in Counselor Education, and 40 hours beyond her Masters. She served as an Education Specialist at HSU from 2002-2007. Following a stint as a secondary public school counselor, Laurel joined the faculty at Ouachita Baptist University to teach in the Dietitics Department. Prior to seving as an Educational Specialist she accepted a position at Henderson State University as an adjunct instructor, as well as a supervisor of student interns in the Family and Consumer Sciences Department. She is a member of: Arkansas Counseling Association, Arkansas Association of Student Assistance Programs, Southwest Association of Student Assistance Programs, and American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.

Rex Holbrook, joined the Board of Directors for the 2007 - 2010 term and is currently our Board chair. Rex has his own business and wife, Jennifer, is the Director of the Multi-media Learning Center. Rex is also our Security Officer.

Kelly Massey, SPHR, CBA joined the Board of Directors in 2010. He is a Certified Business Consultant for the H.S.U. – Arkansas Small Business Development Center. Massey’s prior twelve years of experience are in the human resources management field. As human resources manager for large multi-site manufacturing companies, Massey has an in-depth knowledge of the manufacturing environment. He has been fortunate enough to be a part of the Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, Delta Plastics, Inc., Stant Mfg., Inc., and Georgia-Pacific. His work experience has provided the opportunity to learn about philosophies and concepts such as lean manufacturing, process teams, and Market Based Management. Massey attained a Master’s Degree in Business Administration from Henderson State University. In 2002, he was certified as a Senior Professional of Human Resources, and in 2008, he was certified by the University of Toledo as a Business Advisor.

Becky Jester joined the Board in 2011.  She is the former Director of the Dawson Education Cooperative and Graduate of HSU.  As Chief Financial Officer, Becky is responsible for financial reporting to their Board of Directors.   Becky is committed to their mission, "Serving the Schools, Serving the Children".   Her service extends beyond the cooperative as she has also held many offices in professional organizations and currently is on the executive board of the Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators.  Becky's volunteer service in local schools includes creating a volunteer testing service (TARGET Assessment) and works with distance learning to bring more teachers to classrooms.  She also serves other educational agencies and organizations, colleges and universities, along with community service through different commissions, Foundations and her church.


Veronica Nelson joined the Board in 2012.  She is the Assistant Business Manager for the Dawson Education Cooperative since 1999.   Veronica is a member of the Arkadelphia Association of Educational Office Professionals, Arkansas School Business Officials and participated in the Clark County Leadership Program.



about Henderson
Weather Icon
Javascript must be enabled to view the current weather conditions