HLC Reaffirmation of Accreditation 2021


Henderson State University’s next reaffirmation of accreditation will be held on November 1 and November 2, 2021.

What is the Higher Learning Commission (HLC)?

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region, which includes the 19 states

What is accreditation?

Accreditation is a process to determine if an institution meets a standard of quality educational experience. Accreditation through HLC is a result of a comprehensive evaluation that demonstrates an institution meets a set of criteria.

Why is institutional accreditation important?

Institutional accreditation provides assurance that an institution provides quality education that is recognized by employers or licensing boards. Accreditation allows student the ability to transfer or pursue a higher degree. Accreditation is needed to allow institutions to disperse federal student financial aid.

What are the components of the comprehensive evaluation?

For all institutions, a comprehensive evaluation includes the following components:

When is Henderson’s next comprehensive visit by HLC?

Henderson’s list comprehensive visit was February 2012. The Commission follows a 10-year cycle focused on quality assurance and institutional improvement. Henderson next comprehensive visit will be November 1 and November 2, 2021.

What are the Criterion for Accreditation that Henderson must meet for reaccreditation?

HLC reviewed and updated its Criteria for Accreditation through feedback from the membership and peer reviewers in 2018. HLC’s Board of Trustees adopted the final version at its February 2019 meeting, and the new Criteria for Accreditation will go into effect September 1, 2020.

  • Criterion 1. Mission: The institution’s mission is clear and articulated publicly; it guides the institution’s operations.

  • Criterion 2. Integrity - Ethical and Responsible Conduct: The institution acts with integrity; its conduct is ethical and responsible.

  • Criterion 3. Teaching and Learning - Quality, Resources, and Support: The institution provides quality education, wherever and however its offerings are delivered.

  • Criterion 4. Teaching and Learning - Evaluation and Improvement: The institution demonstrates responsibility for the quality of its educational programs, learning environments and support services, and it evaluates their effectiveness for student learning through processes designed to promote continuous improvement.
  • Criterion 5. Institutional Effectiveness, Resources and Planning: The institution’s resources, structures, processes and planning are sufficient to fulfill its mission, improve the quality of its educational offerings, and respond to future challenges and opportunities.