Student government officers elected

Officers were elected recently for Henderson State University’s 2017-18 Student Government Association.

Clayton Sorrells, a senior pre-medical student from Amity was elected president. Mercedes Thompson, a sophomore biology major from Siloam Springs, is the new vice president of academic affairs. Suzanne Sorrells, a sophomore health science major from Amity is the vice president of public relations.

Anna Grace Duggan, a junior family and consumer science major from Glenwood, was elected vice president of student affairs. And Hunter Collins, a sophomore chemistry major from Grand Prairie, Texas, is vice president of administration. Jesses Williams, a junior aviation major from Paradise, Texas, is secretary.

The executive officers will serve a one-year term.

Elected senators are:

- Paul Hawron, a sophomore from New Boston, Greek (IFC)

- Nathan Steadman, a sophomore from Hot Springs, Ellis College

- Reynolds Beckham, a senior from Alma, School of Business

- Mason Graves, a freshman from North Little Rock, School of Business

- Cynthia Perez, a sophomore from Cabot, Ellis College

- Malik Thrower, a sophomore from Bearden, Greek (NPHC)

- Quincy Gragg, a sophomore from Malvern, Ellis College

- Emily K. Green, a junior from Mt. Pleasant, Texas, Teachers College

- Mikayla Douglas, a junior from Bryant, Teachers College

- Markayla Wyatt, a junior from Stuttgart, School of Business

- Jarvis Warren, a senior from Texarkana, Arkansas, Residence Life

The SGA supervises and provides for student elections and serves as the governing organization of the student body. The SGA establishes and executes programs and projects beneficial to the student body in cooperation with the administration, faculty, staff, Clark County and the State of Arkansas.

The organization also serves as a channel of communication with the faculty, administration, City of Arkadelphia and the State of Arkansas with respect to the opinion, wishes and needs of the student body.