Ellis College honors outstanding students

Henderson State University’s Matt Locke Ellis College of Arts and Sciences honored several students for their creative and academic accomplishments at the annual Student Awards Ceremony April 13 in the Garrison Center Lecture Hall.

Outstanding Creative Accomplishment awards

Recipients of the Outstanding Creative Accomplishment awards are selected based on artistic accomplishment, research or service to others. Each department within the Ellis College selects a student to receive the award. The 2016 recipients are: Natasha Cribbs of Murfreesboro, art; Caitlyn Gosch of Greenwood, biology; Andrew Hodge of Boonsboroe, Maryland, chemistry; Michael McMahen of Fort Smith, theatre; Kaitlynn Garrett of Benton, English; James Garcia of Hot Springs, Spanish; Ariya Tai of Arkadelphia, music; Sarah Medellin of Katy, Texas, nursing; and Parker Milam of Fort Smith, criminal justice.

Outstanding Graduating Senior awards

Each department within the Ellis College selects one student from each major to receive the Outstanding Graduating Senior Award. The students must have a cumulative 3.00 GPA or higher and have either graduated in the fall semester or be eligible to graduate in the spring semester.

Awards were presented to: Christina Millard of Hot Springs, art; Larissa Porter of Kirby, biology; Wade Garrett of Benton, chemistry; Dennis Blackerby of Arkadelphia, communication; Monica Vidal of Arkadelphia, mass media; Anthony McBride of Benton, theatre; Rachel Kelley of Delight, English; Alan Wade of Little Rock, computer science; Hannah Oden of Carlisle, mathematics education; William Blair of Amity, mathematics; Ben Hynds of Malvern, statistics; Kam Martin of Arkadelphia, music; Lucas Sapaugh of Sulpher Springs, Texas, instrumental music performance; Tanner Oglesby of Bryant, vocal music education; Sidney Tyson of Anderson, Missouri, nursing; Trevor Hicks of Murfreesboro, physics; Grant Reimers of Hot Springs, social sciences; Kayla Sparks of Nashville, sociology.

Outstanding Academic Achievement awards

The Ellis College recognizes up to 36 students for Outstanding Academic Achievement Awards. Selected students have a minimum GPA of 3.50. Other considerations might include difficulties overcome in maintaining high academic standards, quality of involvement in campus activities, leadership, and service to the university community.


Awards for Outstanding Junior Academic Achievement were presented to: Colleen Helton of Lexa, art; Lindsey Butler of Mabelvale, biology; Sarah Kuhn of Gurdon, chemistry; Jakob Johnston of Boyles, English; Andy Barboza of Mount Pleasant, Texas, computer science; Olivia Cathey of Benton, music; Kaci Mann of Little Rock, nursing; Rachel Pounds of Ashdown, social sciences; Katie Bostian of Hot Springs, human services.


Awards for Outstanding Sophomore Achievement were presented to: Katie Nix of Sparkman, art; Lee Hunter of Pearcy, biology; Brian Jarrett of Monticello, political science; Ryen Gillespie of Hot Springs, mathematics; Raven Morris of Texarkana, Arkansas, music; Baylee Holt of Arkadelphia, nursing; Kati Hall of White Hall, sociology.


Recipients of the Freshman Academic Achievement awards are: Lauren Newton of Curtis, art; Colten Smith of Texarkana, Arkansas, biology; Audrey Youngblood of Texarkana, Arkansas, chemistry; Jessica Perry of Royal, social sciences; Ryan Quiring of Siloam Springs, computer science; Justin Kennedy of Lewisville, music.