HSU staff honored for years of service


Staff employees at Henderson State University were honored for years of service during a luncheon and awards ceremony held May 12.

Mike Beggs, a skilled tradesman for the physical plant, was honored for 35 years of service to Henderson. Carolyn Hatley, a fiscal support specialist, was recognized for 30 years of service. Judy Hackworth, administrative specialist for university police, was honored for 25 years.

Recognized for 20 years were: Johnny Campbell, chief of university police; and Ginger Otwell, institutional research associate.

Receiving awards for 15 years of service were: Angie Bradshaw, administrative specialist for athletics; Judy Harrison, dean of Teachers College; and Pat Helms, aviation technician.

Recognized for 10 years were: Stephanie Bailey, institutional services shift supervisor; Amanda Baker, resident hall area coordinator; Paulette Blacknall, director of Educational Renewal Zone; Yvette Bragg, administrative specialist for graduate school; Stacy Frazier-Weeks, administrative specialist for registrar; Matt Gordon, assistant football coach; Tim Hughes, skilled tradesman; Lenette Jones, assistant athletic director for internal affairs; Randy McCauley, information systems analyst; Canny Lee, library tech-academic support; Connie Loy, administrative specialist for Garrison Center; Rene Loy, administrative specialist for Teachers College; Justin Wade, institutional services shift supervisor; Gloria Williamson, library tech-academic support; Kristie Wilson, education specialist coordinator for Veterans Upward Bound.

For five years of service, the following staff were recognized: Sherrill Allen, institutional services assistant; Teresa Bird, institutional services assistant; Angela Bobus, financial aid specialist; Julie Cissell, administrative specialist for student and external affairs; Keewyonne Delaney, public safety officer; Stephen Franklin, skilled tradesman; Patsy Gatlin, institutional services assistant; Paula Golden, administrative specialist for advanced instructional studies; Josh Hebig, maintenance assistant; Cody Hooten, head baseball coach; Dawn Kindred-Mabery, payroll technician; Elaine Kneebone, general counsel; Teresa Mann, administrative support supervisor for physical plant; Tonia McBay, administrative support specialist for residence life; Jacob Mills, instructional technology support technician; Erin Poe, education specialist/counselor for disability resource center; Carrie Roberson, director of institutional advancement; Tricia Wempe, education specialist/talent search counselor.

Recent retirees were also recognized, including: James Tinzie, physical plant (eight years); Marilyn Morrison, testing center (15 years); Eddie Summerville, physical plant (17 years); Twyla Buck, business office (20 years); Matthew Buckley, physical plant (20 years); Lonnie Smithpeters, physical plant (21 years); Larry Strother, physical plant (22 years); John Barentine, physical plant (22 years); Judy Hackworth, university police (25 years); Tom Gattin, registrar (26 years); Dennis Rowe, physical plant (28 years); Daniel Smith, physical plant (32 years); Horace Plum, physical plant (33 years); Mike Beggs, physical plant (35 years); and Vera Nelson, physical plant (36 years).