HSU faculty honored for years of service

Henderson State University honored faculty members for their years of service at a ceremony April 12 in the Garrison Center Banquet Room.

Dr. John Hardee, dean of Ellis College and professor of chemistry, was recognized for 30 years of service.

Honored for 25 years of service were: Dr. Fred Worth, professor of mathematics; and Michael Taylor, professor of communications.

20-year honorees were: Dr. James Engman, professor of biology; and Dr. Mike Watters, professor of accounting.

Honored for 15 years were: Dr. Aneeq Ahmad, professor and psychology department chair; Dr. Steven Becraft, professor of music; Dr. Martin Campbell, professor of chemistry; Dr. Steve Carter, associate professor of European history; Dr. Phillip Schroeder, professor of music; Dr. Brett Serviss, professor of biology; Dr. Laura Storm, professor of music; Dr. Peggy Sturba, professor and chair of the English and foreign languages department; Dr. Celya Taylor, associate dean of Teachers College, Henderson, and associate professor of Curriculum and Instruction; and Dr. Kenneth Taylor, vice provost and Graduate School dean.

Ten-year honorees were: Dr. Troy Bray, associate professor and chair of the biology department; Josie Gordon, instructor and clinical education coordinator for athletic training; Betty Ramsey, director of the STEM Center; Dr. Barbara Landrum, associate professor of nursing; and Dr. Pam Shurett, assistant professor of nursing.

Honored for five years were: Dr. Talisha Givan, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction, and director of teacher education admissions; Dr. Alan Blaylock, associate professor of finance; Dr. Cindy Fuller, assistant professor of biology; Dr. Wal Gudrian, associate professor of foreign languages; Lisa Massey, instructor of accounting; Dr. Ronnie Monroe, associate professor of curriculum and instruction; Dr. Malcolm Rigsby, associate professor of sociology; R.C. Smith, instructor of business; Dr. Steven Todd, assistant professor of philosophy; Dr. Charlotte White-Wright, assistant professor of early childhood; and Shelley Austin, assistant professor and chair of the nursing department.

Two retiring faculty were recognized: Dr. Herman “Doc” Gibson, professor of sociology (21 years), and Mitzi Bass, assistant professor of English (21 years).