September 9, 2013 minutes

Henderson State University Assessment Team
Meeting Minutes
Dawson Room, 4:00 p.m.
September 9, 2013

Present: Deb Coventry, Nathan Campbell, Bernie Hellums, Lenette Jones, Pam Ligon, Ronnie Monroe, Brett Serviss, Joyce Shepherd, Karen Spradlin, Sheryl Strother,Wrenette Tedder, Bob Yehl

Absent: Ginger Otwell, Drew Smith

Next Meeting: September 23, 2013

Meeting called to order 4:00 p.m. by Wrenette Tedder.

In opening remarks, Wrenette reminded the Team of Phillip Schroeder’s resignation as chair.  She stated that in addition to electing a chair for the Assessment Team a replacement representative will be needed for Ellis College. New members to the committee include Nathan Campbell who is filling the position vacated by Margaret Hoskins and Drew Smith who is representing student services. He replaces Chad Fielding. Bernie Hellums returns to the Team from education. John Hardee will be approached to appoint a representative from the fine arts area.

Update on Progress of General Education, Bachelor of General Studies (BGS) and Master of Liberal Arts (MLA).  Data submitted by the General Education Committee is being collected and reviewed by the Assessment Office. Once results are tabulated, the committee will discuss areas of improvement and disseminate the results to the campus. The current ETS cohort for the BGS program is relatively small preventing the use of their reporting program. Students in the BGS program are being assessed through one of the General Education rubrics. The MLA
program has also developed rubrics. 

The Team asked that Dr. Maralyn Sommer be invited to the September 23 meeting. 

A question was raised as to who will write the follow up report to HLC due in February. 

Report on End of the Year results.  Wrenette reported on the academic and non-academic units that met the stated reporting deadline. Several units still have not complied with entering data.  Some of these units may have opted for the October 1 deadline. Each vice president will be provided a copy of these results.

Report on Assessment Team Communication.  The Team was encouraged to continue logging
their communications with their respective areas. Training workshops will be scheduled by the
Assessment Office.

Elect Chairperson for 2013-2014.  The chair elected must be a faculty representative. Wrenette Tedder will continue to serve as ex officio. Brett Serviss and Deb Coventry were nominated to serve as co-chairs. Both agreed.

Elect Secretary for 2013-2014.  This appointment was postponed until the next meeting.

Goals for 2013-2014.  Wrenette will provide her goals for the Team as well as discuss the
group’s goals during the September 23 meeting.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Pam Ligon, acting secretary

about Henderson
Weather Icon
Javascript must be enabled to view the current weather conditions