October 11, 2010 minutes

Henderson State University Assessment Team
Meeting Minutes
Dawson Room, 4:00 p.m.
October 11, 2010


Present: Deborah Coventry, Chad Fielding, Margaret Hoskins, Lenette Bailey Jones, Pam Ligon, Brett Serviss, Phillip Schroeder, Wrennete Tedder, Bernie Vellum, Bob Yehl

Absent: Jeff Bailey, Lecia Franklin, Vernon Miles, Karen Spradlin, Hope Warner

Next Meeting: October 25, 2010

Chair Phillip Schroeder called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

Academic Unit Award and how the announcement is to be handled. The Team agreed to notify both the academic and nonacademic units they won the award by contacting them. At that time they will be informed a luncheon will be scheduled to honor them. Campus recognition will be made during the back-to-school faculty meeting for the academic unit. The nonacademic unit will be recognized at the staff luncheon in the spring.

Training workshops. Wrenette informed the Team no one signed up for the scheduled training workshops.

Awards receptions (luncheon, plaque, et al) According to Dr. Miles, $500 has been set aside to recognize departments selected for their outstanding assessment efforts. Deborah Coventry, Lenette Jones and Chad Fielding were appointed to plan a recognition luncheon. Discussion followed as to who would be invited to the luncheon. The suggested timeframe for the luncheon is this semester, the week before Thanksgiving.

Vote on the 2 finalists for Non-Academic Unit. Wrenette distributed a list of the assessment team minutes from previous years. She asked that each member look through their records and provide any missing minutes. A hard copy of the minutes from each assessment meeting will be available for NCATE.

The assessment award rubric (Brett Serviss) Two nonacademic units were voted on by secret ballot. Athletics was the nonacademic unit chosen for the outstanding assessment unit award.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Pam Ligon, secretary



about Henderson
Weather Icon
Javascript must be enabled to view the current weather conditions