November 8, 2010 minutes

Henderson State University Assessment Team
Meeting Minutes
Dawson Room, 4:00 p.m.
November 8, 2010

Present: Lenette Bailey, Debra Coventry, Margaret Hoskins, Pam Ligon, Vernon Miles, Ginger Otwell, Phillip Schroeder, Brett Serviss, Joyce Shepherd, Karen Spradlin, Wrenette Tedder, Lecia Franklin, Hope Warner Absent: Bernie Hellums, Jeff Bailey, Bob Yehl

Next Meeting: November 22, 2010

The meeting of the Henderson State University Assessment Team was called to order at 4:00 p.m., in the Dawson Room, November 8, 2010, by Chair Phillip Schroeder. Although the Assessment Team meetings are open for anyone to attend, Phillip suggested sending a special invitation to the faculty, staff, and the administration encouraging them to attend a biweekly meeting. The Team agreed.

Assessment Awards Luncheon: The assessment awards luncheon initially scheduled for Tuesday, November 16, 2010, was rescheduled for November 30, in the Sun Room, at 12:30 p.m. The Team thanked the assessment awards luncheon committee Debra Coventry, Lenette Bailey-Jones, and Chad Fielding for their assistance.

Meetings with Units in need: Wrenette contacted the seven units in need of assessment assistance asking for convenient meeting times before the December 1 deadline. To date, she has not received responses from all seven units. The Team will be notified through email of those dates and times the units select and encouraged to offer their expertise by attending one or more of the training sessions

Rubric for the Assessment Awards process. Brett Serviss chaired the committee to prepare a rubric to assist with the selection of both academic and nonacademic units for future assessment awards. Wrenette Tedder and Pam Ligon served on the committee as well. Brett distributed a draft of the rubric which is divided into four categories: unacceptable, insufficient, adequate, and exemplary. Each category is assigned a point value. Those units not doing anything will receive zero points and fall in the “unacceptable” category. The “insufficient” rating is a program in place but not complete. An “adequate” rating is for those units in place but have room for improvement. The “exemplary” rating is for those first-rate, outstanding programs.

The rubric is broken into five areas for evaluation. 1. Mission and Development; 2. Outcomes/Objectives; 3. Observations, Actions, and Follow up; 4. Temporal Improvement; and 5. Overall Program (unit). Brett asked the Team to review the document and send any comments or suggestions to him so that it can be submitted for final approval at the November 22 meeting. A comments section will be added. Phillip stated that this rubric might be a good document to use as an assessment tool in our own areas. Vernon Miles further stated that this might also be a usable tool to evaluate assessment plans.

Discussion and committee selection: Phillip assigned members of the Team to a variety of committees. The committees will conclude their work by the end of the spring term.

The University Assessment Plan, which will eventually be submitted to the Board of Trustees, Phillip appointed the committee of Wrenette Tedder, Bernie Hellums, Lecia Franklin, Vernon Miles, Brett Serviss, Lenette Baily-Jones, and Karen Spradlin. He suggested at some point members of faculty and staff senate, deans, and graduate and legal counsel be brought in. Dr. Miles or Wrenette Tedder will serve as chair.
Phillip Schroeder, Wrenette Tedder, Ginger Otwell, Margaret Hoskins, and Hope Warner will serve on the committee to provide updates and revisions to the Assessment Team Handbook. Either Wrenette or Phillip will serve as chair.

To prepare a clear assessment plan for the Assessment Team, a committee consisting of Pam Ligon, BobYehl, Wrentte Tedder, Debra Coventry and Joyce Shepherd was formed. Pam and Wrenette will serve as co-chairs.

A question was asked as to whether the preparation of the General Education assessment plan has fallen to the General Education Committee. It was confirmed this committee has been charged with this task. Wrenette stated she will volunteer to assist this committee on developing an assessment plan.

Arkansas Association for Collegiate Learning (AACL). Wrenette informed the Team that on November 18, 2010, the Arkansas Association for Collegiate Learning’s fall workshop will be held on Harding University’s campus. Dr. Lynn Priddy will speak on “HLC: Expectations for Reaccreditation and Site Visits.” Each university is asked to send only two representatives. Since Wrenette serves as a member of this association, Henderson is permitted two additional representatives. The Team agreed that KenTaylor or Sharon Gardner and Phillip Schroeder attend this workshop.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Pam Ligon, secretary

about Henderson
Weather Icon
Javascript must be enabled to view the current weather conditions