Henderson honors faculty for years of service

 May 3, 2010
Henderson State University honored faculty members for their years of service at a recent ceremony.

Dr. Wayne McGinnis, professor of English, and Dr. David Thomson, professor of English and director of the Honors College, were recognized for 35 years of service.

Dr. Blair Olson, professor and chair of the Department of Counselor Education, and Vickie Faust, assistant director of the Disability Resource Center, were honored for 30 years of service.

Honored for 25 years of service were: Robert Yehl, director of Huie Library; Dr. John Graves, professor of history and chair of the Social Sciences Department; and Dr. Richard Schmid, professor of counselor education.

20-year honorees were: Dr. Woody Jolley, professor of health, physical education and recreation; Dr. James Buckner, professor and chair of the Department of Music; Dr. Martin Halpern, professor of history; Dr. Haroon Khan, professor of political science; Dr. John Long, professor and chair of the Department of Chemistry; Dr. Lonnie McDonald, professor of curriculum and instruction; Dr. Stuart Shaw, professor of geography; Dr. Marilyn Sommer, dean of the Ellis College of Arts and Sciences; and Dr. Renn Tumlison, professor of biology.

Honored for 15 years were: Cecilia Addington, assistant director of Student Support Services; Mitzi Bass, instructor of English; Dr. Carolyn Eoff, professor and chair of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science; and Dr. Herman Gibson III, professor and chair of the Department of Sociology.

10-year honorees were: John Miller, instructor and director of athletic training; Dr. Basil Miller, associate professor of physics; Dr. Judy Harrison, dean of Teachers College, Henderson; Julia Correia, instructor of ESL and CLP coordinator; Dr. Kevin Durand, associate professor of philosophy; William Henshaw, associate professor of theatre; Dr. Michael Miller, professor and chair of the Department of Communication and Theatre Arts; and Dr. Glenna Sumner, associate professor of finance.

Honored for five years of service were: Christine Smart, instructor of ESL Academy; Paulette Blacknall, ERZ director; Deborah Roberts, instructor/secondary math specialist; Dr. Paul Huo, professor of business; Jonathan Moss, instructor of aviation; Linda Evans, assistant librarian; Ramonica Scott, assistant athletic trainer; Eric Bailey, instructor of English; Dr. Stephanie Barron, assistant professor English; Wendi Boyles, instructor of marketing; Aaron Calvert, assistant professor of ceramics; Dr. Stephen Eaves, associate professor of music and director of choral activities; Paul Glover, assistant professor of communication; John Greene, instructor of mathematics; and Dr. Patrick Wempe, associate professor of recreation.


Five Years, from left: Stephen Eaves, Stephanie Barron, Linda Evans, Wendi Boyles, Deborah Roberts, Christine Smart, Paul Huo, Jonathan Moss, Paulette Blacknall, Aaron Calvert, Paul Glover and Patrick Wempe. Not pictured are: Ramonica Scott, Eric Bailey and John Greene.

10 years: Glenna Sumner, William Henshaw, Kevin Durand, John Miller, Basil Miller, Judy Harrison, Julia Correia and Michael Miller.

15 years: Cecilia Addington, Mitzi Bass, Carolyn Eoff and Herman Gibson III.

20 years: Renn Tumlison, Maralyn Sommer, Stuart Shaw, Lonnie McDonald, John Long, Jim Buckner, Woody Jolley, Martin Halpern and Haroon Khan.

25 years: Robert Yehl and John Graves. Richard Schmid is not pictured

30 years: Blair Olsen and Vickie Faust

35 years: Wayne McGinnis and David Thomson



Weather Icon
Javascript must be enabled to view the current weather conditions