School with the heart

Generations of alumni affectionately call their alma mater "The School with a Heart."

Many believe the origin of the nickname dates from the morning of the Great Fire on February 3, 1914 which destroyed the college. The students gathered under the pines and pledged their allegiance to "the school with a heart." Many say that was the night the Reddie Spirit was born. Some believe that the ashes and wreckage of the old building buried at the foot of the pine trees is where "the Heart of Henderson" lies and that if a fortunate couple should discover the 'Heart" they will have eternal happiness.

"The School with a Heart" is a fitting nickname for a university with a definite interest and love for its students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends.