Faculty

Clinton Atchley, Chair and Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Washington
MB 130
870.230.5276
atchlec@hsu.edu

Melanie Angell, Assistant Professor of English
M.L.A., Henderson State University
MB 110
870.230.5456
wilsonmd@hsu.edu

Eric Bailey, Instructor of English
M.A., University of Central Arkansas
MB 138
870.230.5261
baileye@hsu.edu

Stephanie Barron, Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., Texas A&M
MB 128
870.230.5519
barrons@hsu.edu

Jill Batson, Instructor of English
M.S.E., Henderson State University
MB 129
870.230.5169
batsonj@hsu.edu

Marck L. Beggs, Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Denver
MB 136
870.230.5272
beggsm@hsu.edu

Tiffany Carter, Instructor of English
M.L.A., Henderson State University
870.230.5456
cartert@hsu.edu

Carly Cate, Instructor of English
M.L.A., Henderson State University
870.230.5456
catec@hsu.edu

Jennifer Dawes, Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Nevada
MB 122
870.230.5149 
dawesj@hsu.edu

Peggy Dunn Sturba, Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Tennessee
MB 130
870.230.5456
sturbap@hsu.edu

P. Gregory Gibson, Instructor of English
M.A., University of Dayton
MB 126
870.230.5058
gibsonp@hsu.edu

Suzanne Tartamella Kordsmeier, Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Maryland
MB 131
870.230.5363
tartams@hsu.edu

Beth Maxfield, Instructor of English
Ph.D., University of SW Louisiana
MB 126
870.230.5058
maxfieb@hsu.edu

Vernon G. Miles, Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Arkansas
AH 215
870.230.5757
vmiles@hsu.edu

David Thomson, Professor of English
Honors College Director
Ph.D., University of Denver
ST 120
870.230.5129
thomsond@hsu.edu