November 16 2015 Minutes

Henderson State University Assessment Team
Meeting Minutes
November 16, 2015 

Present:      Wrenette Tedder, Ginger Otwell, Brett Serviss, Bernie Hellums, Debra Coventry, Angela Boswell, Lenette Jones, Sheryl Strother, Drew Smith, Judy Jenkins, Beth Maxfield, Renee Clark, Lloyd Moyo 

Absent:       Steve Adkison, Nathan Campbell, Claire Howard, January Schultz, Celya Taylor, Bob Yehl

Brett Serviss called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.  The committee members approved the minutes from the previous meeting.  Ginger Otwell volunteered to take minutes at the two remaining meetings for the fall semester.  At the first meeting of the spring semester, the co-chairs will hold nominations for the position of secretary. 

Wrenette Tedder gave an update on the HLC Assurance Argument.  Henderson (HSU) has submitted their assurance argument for review.  The review team asked HSU to address one area, which we addressed.  HSU is now waiting on the report on our assurance argument.  The next review will be in five years, which will take the place of a ten-year visit.  The subsequent review will implement a quality initiative.  This project will be on an area needing improvement and will take several years to complete.  HSU will be able to roll over what we provided to HLC this year in five year and just update the document. 

Dr. Serviss discussed the selection process for future assessment team members with the team.  The team needs people who (a) have a background in assessment, or (b) want to be on the committee and learn.  The committee is developing a set of guidelines for use in selection of Team membership.  A draft of the guidelines was distributed to committee members for review and comment.  Once approved, the guidelines will be submitted to the Shared Governance Committee for review and subsequent incorporation into the Committee Handbook.  Dr. Serviss asked for feedback to be sent to him prior to the December 7th meeting.  He also mentioned that four people will rotate off the Team in January, but re-emphasized that we need engaged people on the committee. 

Debra Coventry discussed the revised rubric for evaluation of administrative assessment plans.  The administrative rubric was developed by using the academic evaluation rubric as a template.  The rubric will provide feedback to the departments on their plans.  Dr. Serviss asked committee members to look over the rubric to see if it makes sense, and e-mail with any changes. 

Old Business
Dr. Serviss talked to the Team about the communication and distribution of feedback on assessment plans.  It was decided that the plans rated 1 or 2 would have their deadline pushed back to mid-January so that more feedback could be provided to them.  The committee discussed how the feedback would be disseminated (i.e., through the deans, associate deans, or chairs).  The committee also expressed the need for more training on the assessment plans. 

The last item discussed was the assessment awards.  There are three academic nominees and three administrative nominees.  They are: 


MSE Educational Leadership

BS Mathematics

BBA-Business Administration


Academic Advising Center

Financial Aid


Ms. Tedder will e-mail committee members with the login instructions for IWebFolio and their login information.  The members need to review all six nominations and complete the rubric for each one prior to the December 7th meeting.  The awardees will be announced at the next meeting.

 The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m. 

Respectfully submitted,

Ginger Otwell